June 5, 2008

Been trying out Hubpages this week

Posted in Tried-and-Liked tagged , , , , , , , , at 7:30 pm by myrlinn

Last week, I wrote about how I was  kinda obsessed with creating Squidoo pages in my blog post here. This week, I found out that there’s a site very similar to Squidoo called Hubpages, so I decided to try it out as well.

In the interest of experimentation, I created two ‘Hubs’ there:

1) Must-Have Appliances for the Chinese Kitchen; and

2) Money Diet for the Shopping Lover

… and I’m definitely finding that I enjoy the process of creating pages at Squidoo more. Probably because Squidoo actually has more formatting set for headers and sub-heads, so the pages look more lively. Or maybe it has something to do with the fact that when I was trying out Squidoo, I was creating pages on Clay (Aiken) 😉

One noticeable difference: I find that the hubs on Hubpages tend to be more like articles or blogs; whereas the types of modules available on Squidoo (and formatting options) encourage you to structure your pieces more like a website or page.

One feature I do really like at Hubpages is that it has a section for ‘Requests’ from other users, essentially questions that you can answer by creating a new ‘Hub’. Very useful if you love writing, and want to write, but are at a loss as to what topic to start with.

I will probably continue writing both at Squidoo and Hubpages now that I’ve discovered them. They let you write what are essentially short articles on specific topics, and I’m enjoying doing that.

My Favourite Sandwich — Avocado and Tomato

Posted in Food tagged , , , at 8:29 am by myrlinn

I found this recipe some years ago and it’s still my favourite. Avocado goes sooo well with tomato!

The Avocado-Tomato Sandwich

Serves 1

2 slices bread, lightly toasted
2 or 3 thick slices tomato
Several slices avocado
Lettuce or alfalfa sprouts
Mayonnaise, mustard or butter

Note: This recipe is adapted from Fit for Life, by Harvey and Marilyn Diamond. They call this “The Properly Combined Sandwich”, and suggests adding cucumber as well.  The book has some great recipes, by the way. And while I don’t buy into the whole food combining thing anymore, I do think that the general principle of not eating too many types of foods at once is sound (from my own experience).