July 8, 2008

I’ve been writing on Hubpages for one month, and…

Posted in Musings tagged , , , at 8:17 pm by myrlinn

Hard to believe, but it’s been one month since I’ve been writing on Hubpages. And honestly, I didn’t think I would, but I’m really starting to enjoy it there, particularly since I discovered a few really good writers there.

Like CJ Stone who wrote this hub,  On HubPages I Don’t Write For Money, I Write For Love. I agree with him. What you earn on Hubpages is virtually nothing, but it’s worth it for the fact that you can write exactly what you want.  It’s an outlet where you can share with others what’s important to you, what you believe in, what you find interesting.

Then there’s Bob Ewing, who writes hubs about gardening, and dandelions and other weeds as food, like in this hub, Weeds For Dinner- Recipes. I love the back-to-the-roots viewpoint he brings to his articles.

Shadesbreath makes great points in articles like 10 Steps to a Perfect Scam: How cults and pyramid schemes work the same. It’s also stimulating to read the subsequent discussions.

And I can’t help but be amused by articles like this one from marisuewrites: Do You Suffer From Hippopotomonstrosesqippedaliophobia?

So, yeah, I’m glad I stuck around there. If I hadn’t, I wouldn’t have found these writers.

I would have stopped at the hubs (ie articles) with photos of hot, sexy women *cringe* and run away.

Another type of hub I try to stay away from is hubs on religion. I ventured into one the other day, and I think it’s put me off reading another one for a long, long time. It’s upsetting to me when I see how people abuse the internet to write opinions on other religions which have no foundation in fact or logic. Smacks of intolerance, and arrogance, and yet articles like these get to stay because of the principle of freedom of speech. But that’s one of the disadvantages of the internet, isn’t it? It provides a forum for the gossip-mongers, the controversy-seekers, the extremists. Sadly, these are the very people attracing a lot of attention from internet denizens, while the voices of reason and moderation get ignored.


Leave a Reply

