March 16, 2008

Twenty Years Later?

Posted in Music tagged , , at 11:52 am by myrlinn

I was listening to Suzanne Vega’s “Retrospective”. The first track? ‘Luka’, a song I probably heard about 20 years ago, in the 1980s. It’s a song which still speaks to my ears and my heart today. Which got me to wondering: What will I still absolutely resonate with me 20 years from now? These come to mind:

Amazing Grace.

Canon and Gigue (Johann Pachelbel). Loved the melody from first listen.

Devoted To You (Everly Brothers). My mum used to have books of lyrics, and this was one of the songs in it. As a young girl, the melody resonated with me, and although I didn’t think of it in those terms at that time, the innocence of the lyrics appealed as well.

What A Wonderful World (Louis Armstrong). What a wonderful voice.

The Sound of Silence (Simon and Garfunkel).

Solitaire (Neil Sedaka, and more recently, Clay Aiken).

Coat of Many Colours (Dolly Parton). A story about the preciousness of gifts made from love — touches me every time.

Blowin’ In The Wind (Bob Dylan). Poetic, moving.

Child (Freddie Aguilar).

Fernando (ABBA).

Luka (Suzanne Vega).

Tears in Heaven (Eric Clapton).

Seven Nation Army (White Stripes). Love the bass(?) melody.

The Remedy (Jason Mraz). Love Jason’s music, and this is one of his best.

My Immortal (Evanescence). Just beautiful.

Good News (Avalon, as performed by Clay Aiken in concert).

Leave a Reply

